UHMC Library

toolbar

UHMC Library Fines & Fees

The UHMC Library is a University of Hawaii library. The library is required to assess and collect fines and fees.

  • Library materials must be returned by the date due (stamped on item).
  • Fines are assessed for all overdue items.
  • Fines for overdue items are assessed every day, including weekends and holidays.
  • Your borrowing privilege is suspended whenever the amount you owe to the library totals $10 or more.
  • You will be blocked from registering, graduating, or getting transcripts if you owe any UH library $10 or more.
  • Appeals

    To appeal fines or fees, please fill out this form.

    How to pay your fines & fees:

  • You may pay fines in person at the library or by mail.
  • The library only takes cash, check, or money order.
  • You may pay your library fines and fees in-person at any UH System library.
  • You may pay by mail. Send a check or money order made out to "University of Hawaii Maui College Library" at:
  • Circulation
    UHMC Library
    310 W Kaahumanu Ave
    Kahului, HI 96732

    Fines:
    books 25¢ per day per item
    reserve books & materials 50¢ per day per item
    recalled items 50¢ per day per item
    media (DVDs & CDs) $1 per day per item

    Fees:

    Lost item: $80 (this cost may be more). This fee consists of:
    • lost item replacement cost: $60 (or cost determined by the library, this cost may be more) per item
    • non-refundable processing fee: $10 per item
    • overdue fines: $10 per item
    An item is considered lost when the fine reaches $10.
    • 10 days after the due date for items at $1 per day
    • 20 days after the due date for items at 50¢ per day
    • 40 days after the due date for items at 25¢ per day.
    • Lost charges include: replacement cost of the item ($60 or more) + NON-REFUNDABLE processing fee ($10) + accumulated overdue fines ($10) = $80 or more.
    • If a "lost" item is returned, you must still pay $20 per item: NON-REFUNDABLE processing fee ($10) + accumulated overdue fines ($10) = $20.

    Damaged item: $70/per item(this cost may be more,) plus any overdue fines.

    • If an item is returned on time or overdue (not lost), but damaged (determination made by the librarian), the fee accessed will be $70/per item (this cost may be more). This fee consists of:
      • item replacement cost: $60 (or cost determined by the library, this cost may be more) per item
      • non-refundable processing fee: $10 per item
      • any accumulated overdue fines

    February 15, 2013 1:53 PM